HomeWeb Management ToolCreating a User Box

Creating a User Box

Create a Public, Personal, or Group User Box.

  • Personal User Box can be used when user authentication is employed.

  • Group User Box can be used when account track is employed.

In the administrator mode, select [Box] - [User Box List] - [New Registration], then configure the following settings.

Settings

Description

[User Box Number]

Registration number of the box. Select [Use opening number] to automatically assign the smallest available number. When specifying a number, select [Input directly], and enter a value between 1 and 999999999.

[User Box Name]

Enter the User Box name (using up to 20 characters).

Assign a name that helps you easily identify the User Box.

[Assign User Box Password]

When restricting usage of User Box using a password, select this check box and then enter a password (using up to 64 characters, excluding ").

[Index]

Select a corresponding character so that a User Box can be index searched with [User Box Name].

[Type]

Select [Public], [Personal], or [Group] depending on User Authentication or Account Track settings.

  • If [Personal] is selected, specify the owner user.

  • If [Group] is selected, specify the owner account.

[Auto Delete Document]

Specify the period from the date/time when a file was saved in, last printed, or sent from a User Box to the date/time when it is to be deleted automatically.

  • [Do Not Delete]: Keeps the file in the User Box.

  • [Specify days]: Select the number of days until the file is automatically deleted.

  • [Specify Time]: Enter the time period before the file is automatically deleted.

[User Box Expansion Function]

To configure the User Box Expansion function, click [Display].

[Confidential RX]

To add the Confidential RX function to a User Box, select the [Confidential RX] check box. Also enter the password for confidential RX (using up to eight characters).

The entered password is required for sending a fax using Confidential TX to this machine. Inform the sender of the password you entered here.

To use this function, the optional Fax Kit is required. In some area, bizhub C3851FS/C3851 provides the Fax Kit as standard.

[Auto Save Document to MFP Shared Folder]

To share files saved in the Public User Box of the machine using the SMB protocol on the network, select [ON].

If you select [ON], select whether to encrypt SMB communications with the client machine in [SMB Communication Encryption]. To use the encryption function, the password must be specified for the User Box. Enabling encryption accesses only from client machines of SMB 3.0 or later.

This setting is available when:

  • [Public] is selected in [Type];

  • [SMB Server Settings] and [Share SMB File Setting] are enabled in [Network] - [SMB Setting] - [SMB Server Settings] of the administrator mode; and

  • The [Confidential RX] check box is not selected.

[OFF] is specified by default.